muffintinmommy

Cool & Creative Ways to Use Your Muffin Tins!

Muffin Tin Corn Dogs

on April 4, 2012

Tonight for dinner at our house we made muffin tin corn dogs! Mmm mmm good! I saw something similar on Pinterest and got inspired to give it a whirl. This was SUPER QUICK and VERY EASY!! Now in my house we all like the corn bread part the best so I started playing around with the recipe a little bit. And here’s what we came up with…

I made these in a regular size muffin tin as opposed to the mini because we wanted a greater cornbread to hot dog ratio 🙂 Here’s what you’ll need…

Ingredients:

Jiffy Corn bread mix (2 boxes)

2 eggs

2/3 cup milk

4 beef hot dogs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

cut hot dogs into 1 inch segments

mix wet and dry ingredients in bowl

fill muffin cups 3/4 of the way full with corn bread mix

place a piece of hot dog in the center of each cup

bake for 10-15 minutes depending on your oven (mine only took 13 so keep your eye on them)

** I ended up with a little extra mix and a few extra hot dog pieces so I just grabbed a 6 cup tin and made 2 more corn dog muffins and fed the dog the 2 extra pieces of hot dog 😉 So all in all this recipe made 14 corn dog muffins.

If you prefer a more even ratio of corn bread to hot dog make these in a mini muffin tin 🙂 I served mine with french fries and fruit (not pictured but I did give my kids something healthy, lol!)

Here is the recipe I saw on Pinterest in case you are interested, it is a more healthy &  from scratch version from …in sock monkey slippers she actually adds corn, which I think I might try next time I like the idea of the texture. I just didn’t want to freak the kids out the first time around! But I think they’ll enjoy the surprise next time 😉

I hope you all enjoy these tasty treats as much as we did! Coming soon a photo shoot for my new muffin tins! You’ve just got to see these little guys 🙂 They are so cute and unique so stay tuned!!

2 responses to “Muffin Tin Corn Dogs

  1. haha! so cute. Had no idea what a corn dog was until now.

    • That’s awesome, happy to help you the discover the joy of corn dogs! 🙂 You must try one from a fair though that is the best kind of corn dog, and the grocery store carry’s a good substitute as well in the frozen food section if you can’t get to a fair. (County Fair is the brand I’ve seen in my area.)They are one of those things you just have to try at least once in your life 😉 But the muffin tin version is admittedly cuter of course! Thanks for stopping by, and I hope to see you around in the future!!

Leave a Reply

