muffintinmommy

Cool & Creative Ways to Use Your Muffin Tins!

Cereal Bars

on April 17, 2012

So lately I’ve been trying to eat better. On a recent trip to the doctor I was told it would be beneficial to my health 😉 I think it’s actually beneficial for everyone it’s just a matter of breaking those bad habits, lol! I have several friends who have been talking to me about healthy stuff lately too so it must be a sign! Not to mention me stumbling across this awesome recipe that actually sounds good not to mention is mega healthy and I didn’t immediately close the browser and move on to something else, HA! Someone is trying to tell me something so I thought I’d share 🙂 These incredible healthy, yummy, and easy breakfast bars come to us from the Fooducate Blog. This was a guest post by a gal named Lisa Cain, PhD, a.k.a Snack-Girl she also has her own website where she talks about healthy snacks and gives reviews, I must say she really seems to know her stuff 🙂 I will be spending a lot more time on these 2 sites in near future for sure, lots of good info! But back to the recipe at hand…

Here is what Snack Girl (Lisa) had to say about these… after reading this I decided her logic was flawless so I might as well give them a whirl, maybe you will too 🙂

“Anybody else sick of packaged cereal bars? But, they are just SO easy and fast.

The concept, a delicious bar packed with nutrients to start your day isn’t a bad one. The problem is that most cereal or granola bars on the market have a ton of added sugar and they taste kinda fake.

Snack Girl to the rescue!!!

So, I have looked at perhaps 100 different granola bar/energy bar recipes and the ones that I like the best feature ingredients that I already have in the house. But, many homemade recipes also have added sugar. In fact, the recipe I used to use (Energy Bar Recipe), has 3/4 cup brown sugar in it.

What if all the ingredients were unprocessed and there was no added sugar, honey, or maple syrup? Would you get something that tasted yummy?

The problem is that we are so inundated with sugar, that at first a child (or adult) might dislike these because they aren’t sweet enough. My 6 year old LOVED these “Cereal Bars” and eagerly ate one for breakfast.

I like them because (basically) this is just fruits and nuts stuck together by nut butter and mashed bananas. These are easy to make and store well in the fridge or freezer.

And did I mention that they are gluten free and vegan? Whoa!

If you like grabbing a bar for breakfast, give these a try.

Also, these could make a great snack, but I wouldn’t make them as large. I would divide up the batter into 24 muffin cups and cook them a shorter length of time. This way you get a snack closer to a hundred calories – which is a more reasonable amount.”

See what I mean? Aren’t you convinced now? Especially with the recent reports about all the added sugar in our diets that have been in the news lately! Check out this series on The Perils of Sugar  By Yahoo7 TV, Yikes! Anyway here’s the recipe, let me know what you think! I’m definitely gonna try the snack version!

Cereal Bar Recipe

(makes 12 or 24)
1/2 cup nut butter
2 bananas, mashed
1/2 cup whole nuts (choose your favorite)
1 ½ cup total of dried fruits (cherries, cranberries, apricots, raisins, coconut, etc.)
1 cup rolled oats
1 tsp vanilla (optional)
Pinch cinnamon (optional)
1/4 cup pumpkin or sunflower seeds (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a food processor, coarsely chop nuts and dried fruits. Mix nut butter and bananas until a paste forms. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix. Spoon into lightly greased muffin cups and bake for 15 minutes. Can be stored in refrigerator for 5 days.

For one granola bite (12 in recipe) = 190 calories, 8.4 g fat, 26.7 g carbohydrates, 5.4 g protein, 3.1 g fiber, 52 mg sodium, 5 PointsPlus

A Grab ‘N Go Breakfast With ZERO Added Sugar!!! How about that? Count me in! Grab those Muffin tins and get busy folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

