muffintinmommy

Cool & Creative Ways to Use Your Muffin Tins!

Cookie Bowls

on May 15, 2012

I’m on a bit of a sweet kick lately but this one was a great find! I have seen it on Pinterest SEVERAL times and of course I have it pinned to my MuffinTinMommy board 🙂 But as I was surfing the Wilton website I came across it again so I figured that was a sign… it’s time to do the cookie bowl! So here ya go 🙂

How awesome are those?!! Now I know that these are shown on one of Wilton’s specialty pans, which I am going to go invest in immediately, lol! But I’m sure you could use a regular muffin tin as well it just won’t be as fancy. But come on it would still be pretty darn cool especially served with your favorite treat inside!  You can fill these with ice cream, pudding, berries, the options are endless! I was looking on Wilton’s website to get ideas for some upcoming birthday parties and thought these would be PERFECT! You could also serve them at an elegant dinner party, or just a cozy movie night at home and everything in between! Your guests and your family will think you’re a sweet genius, lol 😉

*Speaking of birthdays, I have a cool ice cream tip for efficient serving, I’ll post it at the bottom!) But for now here’s a sugar cookie recipe from Wilton, (the chocolate chip recipe you see pictured comes on the back of the packaging when you buy the pan above). I have also heard that you can use a store bought refrigerated cookie dough and that works just as well though I have not tried it myself, I might go that route just to test it out 😉 I love shortcuts, lol!

Sugar Cookie Recipe for Cookie Bowls from Wilton

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray the outside of each bowl cavity of Ice Cream Cookie Bowl Pan with vegetable pan spray.

In medium bowl, combine flour and salt. In large bowl, beat butter and sugar with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and extracts. Add flour mixture to butter mixture, 1 cup at a time, mixing after each addition.

Roll out dough on generously-floured surface to 1/8 in. thickness. Cut 4-1/2 in. circles from dough.. Drape one circle over each bowl cavity of pan, pressing to form smooth surface.

Bake 11-13 minutes or until cookie cups are firm and golden brown. Cool on pan on cooling rack 10 minutes. Loosen bottom edges of cookies from pan using small spatula. Carefully remove cups from pan and cool completely. Wash, dry and spray pan; repeat with remaining dough. Makes 12 bowls.

Now of course you can alter this recipe, as with any recipe, add mini chocolate chips or what have you. You could also use your own roll out dough recipe!

Here’s another pic from the website showing examples of how to fill them…

Now don’t those just look yummy?!

As promised here is the ice cream trick! (also found on Pinterest btw) I bought the Wilton Pink Petal Baking Cups but you could always use regular liners as well 😉 It’s such a time saver and keeps me from buying those individual cups of ice cream to pass out at the party, which are sometimes impossible to find and you end up buying the expensive brand name minis …like my husband did for the last party, lol, he got tiny Haagen-Dazs and it was NOT cheap! So here ya go, save some time and $$ by pre scooping ice cream into cupcake liners! Store them in the freezer in a muffin tin until time to serve 🙂

If you like the petals they come in different colors, here’s a link, Petal baking cups by Wilton. You can also find them at certain stores around town that carry Wilton supplies, my 14 year old daughter even saw them at Kmart while checking out the latest Selena Gomez clothing line and my husband saw them at Le Gourmet Chef in the mall! I know that Michael’s and Walmart carry Wilton supplies as well. My almost 3 year old little girl is going to LOVE these at her birthday party ❤ I can’t wait to see her little face 🙂 Happy Tuesday everyone and need I remind you… today is a good day to use your muffin tin!!

4 responses to “Cookie Bowls

  1. Mallorie says:

    this. is. awesome. Having a party Sunday and just might make these!!!

  2. This is an awesome idea! They look and work fantastically good.

  3. Denise says:

    What a cute idea!! Can’t wait to they it for the kids.

  4. […] Source This entry was posted in DIY, Sweet and tagged Cookies, كوكيز by MeMo. Bookmark the permalink. Cancel Reply […]

Leave a Reply

