muffintinmommy

Cool & Creative Ways to Use Your Muffin Tins!

Jello Babies

on June 5, 2012

Good morning! Today marks the first day of the Jello Series πŸ˜€ Yep, you heard me J-E-L-L-O! I wanted to do something fun and easy for the kids this weekend so I decided to make Jello Babies!! Another awesome Pinterest find…

These are the inspiration for our weekend treat πŸ™‚ Super cute right?! I made mine in red and blue with a cool whip topping, they were very patriotic. I wanted to try them out for the fourth πŸ˜‰ Sorry no pics as I’m saving those for the grand reveal in July, lol! But you get the idea, you can basically make these little babies in ANY Jello color you like. Here is a link to The Jello Mold Mistress of Brooklyn which is where I found the Jello Babies.

It’s SO easy, simply follow the instructions on the back of the Jello box…

1. Stir one cup boiling water into gelatin in medium bowl, at least 2 minutes until completely dissolved.

2. Stir in 1 cup cold water.

3. Refrigerate 4 hours or until firm.

I boiled my water in a glass 4 cup measuring cup in the microwave (about 4-5 minutes, just watch it until it bubbles) and stirred the jello mix into that. I then realized pouring a cup of cold water into that might be a bad idea, duh. Adding cold to something that was just at boiling temperature may cause the glass to shatter (It hasn’t happened to me yet but I don’t want to break my perfect record, lol) so I poured my dissolved jello mixture into a plastic mixing bowl with a pour spout and then added the 1 cup of cold water πŸ™‚

Next I just filled a regular 12 cup muffin tin. Pour the mixture into the cups filling them all the way to the top, one or two were just shy of that but those will just be EXTRA cute and small for the little people in your life, they’ll get a kick out of the tiny ones “made just for them” πŸ˜‰ Refrigerate.

Then you just wait until they are firm, the box said 4 hrs so I just left them in for the full amount of time but you can check on them, they make take less time since they are in smaller portions than the medium sized bowl the box is making. And that is it! You can use a knife to slide around the edges to release them from the tin or just dip the pan into warm water for a few seconds to get them out. Flip them upside down and give them a dollop of Cool Whip and enjoy πŸ™‚ **I used the water method and I think that works best just don’t let them sit too long or they’ll get runny. For releasing one at a time just use a cup of warm water under the cup you want to release! Over the sink though because the cup will over flow once you put the muffin cup in, lol.

NOTE: You can also use a Jumbo muffin tin for larger portions or for that matter a mini muffin tin for preemie Jello Babies πŸ˜‰

Fun, easy and quick! My favorite kind of treat to make πŸ˜‰ Tomorrow I will share an adult Jello treat that is sure to be a hit at any gathering! Stay tuned… now go grab that muffin tin and make someone happy!

Leave a Reply

