muffintinmommy

Cool & Creative Ways to Use Your Muffin Tins!

Muffin Tin Soup

on April 18, 2012

It’s a rainy day here in Fredericksburg and quite chilly too! As I pondered what to post for you all this morning I peeked out our back door and noticed that my toddler and I had left the bubbles out on the back deck yesterday… So I ran out on tip toes, bare footed and in my jammies just as it started sprinkling. After rescuing 4 bubble swords and a bucket full of bubble juice and wands I stood there on the mat by the back door quite damp and chilly with the air from the vent blowing directly on me thinking… it is definitely a soup for lunch kind of day, lol!  Aha!!

Now let me just start by saying that I  found a toddler friendly chicken soup recipe on Pinterest and I will share that one with you today but keep in mind that this will work for ANY soup!! That is really my point here… make your soup as usual… pour it into a muffin tin or several, freeze it and now you have ready made single serve portions whenever you need them! Once they are completely frozen remove them from your muffin tins and store them in a large zip lock bag. Just pop out 1 or 2 or how ever many your serving size equals depending on who you’re feeding, in to a microwave safe bowl and voila! Homemade soup in minutes!

This recipe comes from the mommy in charge.com to read her story behind why she came up with this recipe go to her site, it’s kinda cute 🙂 It’s titled Beating the Macaroni Blues.

Toddler Friendly Easy Chicken Soup

Chicken breasts or pieces (raw or cooked)
1/2 cup chopped onion (optional)
1 clove of garlic mined (optional)
1 litre chicken broth
1 cup of diced carrots (or whatever veggie your little one eats)
1/2 cup of diced celery
1 cup of egg noodles

What to do:

If using raw chicken, place diced chicken in your saucepan with onion, garlic and a couple tablespoons of water. Cover and cook.

Once the chicken is cooked, I removed the chicken, rinsed and put back in the pan minus the onion. You know, doing everything one can to keep the toddler happy.

Add broth, carrots and celery and bring to boil. Simmer until vegetables and cooked, but still crunchy. Add noodles, cook for 5 minutes and serve.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I personally like my veggies in my chicken noodle soup a little smooshey so as always get creative and change things up a bit, make adjustments and make it fit you and your little one. I  like to play around with recipes and tailor them to my liking, maybe that’s the princess in me coming out, lol 😉 but why shouldn’t I right? I mean I’m the one eating it! I do it for my family too so I’m not a total princess, I do take them into consideration 😉 I hope you find this useful and look forward to enjoying some muffin tin soup in the future!


4 responses to “Muffin Tin Soup

  1. Stephanie says:

    I love this idea! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. You are very welcome Stephanie 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. […] Make your favorite soup as you usually would, freeze it in muffin tins, and then reheat two or three soup cups when you’re hungry. Recipe here. […]

  4. […] Make your favorite soup as you usually would, freeze it in muffin tins, and then reheat two or three soup cups when you’re hungry. Recipe here. […]

Leave a comment